UPSC 2024 Age Eligibility Requirements

UPSC 2024 Age Eligibility – Candidates who wish to become IAS officers are required to take the USPC examination. In doing so, candidates are required to have in-depth knowledge of the UPSC 2024 eligibility criteria. This article explains the various areas of the eligibility criteria. Candidates appearing for the Civil Services Examination must adhere to these given criteria.

About The UPSC

Every year, many young people want to get selected for the Indian Administrative Service (IAS). The Union Public Service Commission (UPSC) conducts an exam to select people for this top government job. This year, the UPSC scheduled the IAS exam for May 26th, 2024. However, they delayed the exam date because of the countrywide general elections.

The UPSC has set the new exam date as June 16th, 2024. People who wish to become IAS officers can prepare for this new date. Becoming an IAS officer is a big dream for them, as the Indian government considers this job very important and respected.

UPSC 2024 Eligibility

The IAS is currently accepting registrations for its prestigious 2024 UPSC exams. Candidates will want to put in hard work to secure this opportunity, and it is also crucial that they thoroughly understand the eligibility criteria. Meeting the listed criteria will help ensure a successful application for the exam and avoid any obstacles.

The UPSC bases eligibility on age limit, nationality, educational qualifications, number of attempts allowed, and age relaxation provisions. This article will provide in-depth knowledge about the eligibility criteria to help candidates navigate the application process smoothly and seize this opportunity. The following are the eligibility criteria to be fulfilled by candidates:

UPSC IAS Eligibility Criteria: Age Limit

The UPSC age eligibility criteria 2024 is vital to the eligibility requirements. The age limit criteria for the UPSC exams are of various categories and they are as follows:

Generally – For this category, candidates must have a minimum age of 21 years and a maximum of 32 years.

Other Backward Classes (OBC) – Candidates applying from this category have an age limit ranging from 21 years to 35 years.

Scheduled Caste or a Scheduled Tribe (SC/ST) – This category has an age limit ranging from 21 to 37 years.

Persons with Benchmark Disabilities (PwBD) – Candidates of this category must be of the minimum age of 21 years and a maximum of 42 years. This category includes people such as:

  • The blind and those with low vision;
  • Those with locomotor disability including cerebral palsy, leprosy, dwarfism, acid attack victims, and muscular dystrophy;
  • Candidates who are deaf and hard of hearing;
  • Individuals with autism, intellectual disability, specific learning disability, and mental illness;
  • multiple impairments, including deaf-blindness

Emergency Commissioned Officers (ECOs)/Short Service Commissioned Officers (SSCOs) – Candidates that are ECOs/SSCOs and have completed an initial period of more than five years on or before August 1 2023 and also have their assignments renewed for five years should within the following ages:

  • General: 21 to 32+5 Years
  • OBC: 21 to 32+5+3 Years
  • SC/ST: 21 to 32+5+5 Years

Defense Services Personnel who are disabled in operations – Candidates in this category must be of the following:

  • General: 21 to 32+3 Years
  • OBC: 21 to 32+3+3 Years
  • SC/ST: 21 to 32+3+5 Years

UPSC Age Limit Relaxations

The UPSC provides age relaxation under certain circumstances for the listed age limits:

  • The UPSC grants a maximum relaxation of five years for candidates who belong to the Scheduled Caste (SC) or Scheduled Tribe (ST) categories.
  • It grants a relaxation of three years for candidates from Other Backward Classes (OBC).
  • Defense Services Personnel disabled during operations are eligible for a maximum relaxation of three years.
  • The UPSC provides a maximum relaxation of five years for Ex-Servicemen (ECOs) and Short Service Commissioned Officers (SSCOs).
  • Candidates in the Persons with Benchmark Disabilities (PwBD) category are eligible for a maximum relaxation of ten years.

UPSC IAS Eligibility Criteria: Nationality

The nationality aspect of the eligibility is also important and candidates must adhere to the standards to qualify for the UPSC examination. The criteria are as follows:

  • Candidates must be a citizen of India
  • Candidates must be citizens of any of the listed countries – India, Nepal, or Bhutan.
  • Candidates must be Tibetan refugees who migrated to India before the 1st of January 1962 with plans of settling permanently in India, or
  • Candidate who is of Indian origin who has moved from Pakistan, Burma, Sri Lanka, East African countries of Kenya, Uganda, the United Republic of Tanzania, Zambia, Malawi, Ethiopia, Zaire, and Vietnam with plans of settling permanently in India.
  • Candidates from Nepal, Bhutan, and Tibet will have to present a certificate of eligibility issued by the Indian government. Candidates of this category can take the UPSC exam before going for the certificate of eligibility with the aid of an offer of appointment.

UPSC IAS Eligibility Criteria: Educational Qualification

  • The UPSC requires candidates to have concluded their studies and acquired a degree from an accredited and government-recognized university or possess an equivalent qualification.
  • It also allows candidates in their final year of university studies or awaiting results to take the UPSC exam. However, these candidates must provide proof of successful degree completion along with their IAS examination application form.
  • The UPSC deems candidates with government-recognized technical and professional qualifications as eligible.
  • Students in the medical field who have passed the final year MBBS but have not completed their internship are also eligible for the IAS examination. They must submit their main examination application along with a course completion certificate obtained from the relevant university authority.

UPSC IAS Eligibility Criteria: Number of Attempts

The UPSC provides candidates from various categories with a specific number of attempts to apply for the exams:

  • It gives candidates from the General Category a maximum of 6 attempts.
  • It allows candidates from the OBC Category a maximum of 9 attempts.
  • The UPSC grants candidates from the ST/SC Category an unlimited number of attempts.
  • For candidates from the PwBD (Persons with Benchmark Disabilities) category belonging to General and OBC, it provides a maximum of 9 attempts.
  • The UPSC gives PwBD candidates from the ST/SC category an unlimited number of attempts.

UPSC IAS Eligibility Criteria: Medical and Physical Standards

The UPSC requires candidates applying for the IAS examination to be medically and physically fit for the IAS job role. It sets specific medical standards that candidates must meet.


Now that we have listed the various eligibility criteria for the UPSC IAS exam, the path to becoming an IAS officer is closer for interested candidates. The path also has its challenges but complete adherence to the given criteria can help ease the challenges. The UPSC ensures only the most deserving candidates cut through its eligibility criteria on age, nationality, education, number of attempts, and medical fitness. Those who satisfy the criteria demonstrate their dedication and determination to serve the nation through this prestigious civil service.