How to Block Someone on Snapchat – Learn how to block someone on Snapchat so you can keep your account secure and private. This guide will show you how to block someone from seeing your Snaps, Stories, and chats, and adding you as a friend. We will also cover how to unblock someone if you change your mind.
Are you tired of receiving unwanted messages or snaps from someone on Snapchat? Luckily, the popular social media platform allows you to block users who you no longer want to hear from.
In this article, we’ll walk you through the steps of blocking someone on Snapchat so you can take control of your account and protect your privacy. Whether you’re dealing with a spam account, an ex, or just someone you no longer want to interact with, we’ll show you how to block them quickly and easily.
Read Also: 4 Easy Steps to Unpin Someone on Snapchat
What Happens When You Block Someone on Snapchat?
When you block a user on Snapchat, you prevent them from being able to reach or find you. From their perspective, your Snapchat account and activity will not exist. They will not be able to:
- Send you photos or video snaps.
- Initiate a chat with you.
- View your stories.
- Discover your account when they search for you.
If You Block A User on Snapchat, Will They Know?
Snapchat does not notify a user when they are blocked by another user. However, the blocked user might suspect that they have been blocked when they notice that your account and activity are no longer visible to them. The only way for a user to confirm that they have been blocked is by searching for their account using another unblocked Snapchat account.Block Someone on Snapchat
How to block someone on Snapchat
Here’s a brief guide on how to block someone on Snapchat:
Step 1: Open the Snapchat application and log in.
Step 2: Swipe right to access the Friends page.
Step 3: Locate the person you wish to block, tap and hold their name, then select “More.”
Step 4: Tap “Block.”
If the person you want to block is not on your Friends list, use the search function by tapping the magnifying glass next to “Friends” at the top of the screen, and typing in their username. Once you find them, tap and hold their name, select “More,” and press “Block.”
Read Also: How To Make A Woman Feel Beautiful
How to Unblock Someone on Snapchat
If you decide to unblock someone on Snapchat later, you can do it in Settings:
- Go to your profile by tapping the profile icon in the top-left corner, then tap the gear icon in the top-right corner to access Settings.
- Scroll down to the bottom of the screen to find the “Blocked” option. All the people you have blocked will be listed here.
- To unblock a user, tap on the “X” next to their username.
Alternatives to Blocking Users on Snapchat
Blocking is the most drastic way to cut off communication with another user, however, there are alternative methods that are less restrictive.
Read Also: How to Evolve Petilil Legends Arceus
Use the Do Not Disturb Feature
The Do Not Disturb feature is a less restrictive alternative to blocking that mutes notifications from friends or groups, but still allows them to send snaps and chats. It’s a good option for keeping in touch with specific friends and groups without being constantly notified.
To access the Do Not Disturb feature, open a chat with a friend, tap the menu icon, and select “Do Not Disturb” from the menu list.
Delete a User from Your Friends List
Deleting a user will remove them as a friend, which means you will no longer be connected to them. They can still view your public stories and may be able to send you snaps and chats, depending on your privacy settings.
This is a good option if you want to share private stories with friends, but keep your account open to public viewing by non-friends.
To delete a user, open a chat with them, tap the menu icon, and select “Remove Friend” from the menu list.
Read Also: How to Find Old Teachers
Change Your Privacy Settings So That Only Friends Can Contact You
If you don’t want non-friends to be able to contact you or view your stories, you can change your privacy settings to block them. This is a useful alternative to deleting users from your friends list. Snapchat gives you the option to choose whether you want everyone or just friends to contact you and view your stories.
To change these settings, tap on your profile icon in the upper left corner of the app
- Access your settings by tapping on the gear-like icon
- Navigate to the “Who Can” section
- Tap “Contact Me” and select “My Friends” so that only your friends can send you snaps or chats.
- Go back, tap “View My Story” and select “My Friends” or tap “Custom” to create a custom filter to choose who can see your stories.